认识史黛西

史黛西·艾布拉姆斯成长于密西西比州的格尔夫波特,有5个兄弟姊妹;他们的父母有3大原则:上教堂、上学和照顾彼此。她的父亲是名造船厂工人;而她的母亲则是大学的图书馆员;尽管面对财务困难,他们依然教导他们孩子为他人服务的价值。不论他们在维持收支上碰到多大的困境,史黛西和她的手足学到总有人比他们拥有的更少,而服务那样的人正是他们的职责所在。她的父母并坚持找寻最佳的教育机会,不论是为他们的孩子或是自己。艾布拉姆斯一家搬至佐治亚州的动力—教育和服务—直至今日依然是史黛西价值的核心所在。

Photo of Stacey Abrams looking out over a crowd.

史黛西的父母在埃默里大学攻读神学研究生学位后,成为联合卫理公会的牧师。 史黛西和她年幼的手足则就读于迪卡尔布县的公立学校。她毕业于埃文代尔高中并分别在斯皮尔曼学院、德克萨斯大学LBJ公共事务学院和耶鲁法学院取得学位。

Experience

无论身居何位都是坚持不懈的改革者

史黛西在突破性的2018年州长参选中并未当选,但她没有退出;反倒是立即返回工作岗位。因为她明白,她不需要州长的头衔就能改变佐治亚州人民的生活。

在两次竞选州长期间,史黛西:

  • 帮助小企业获得维持运营所需的资金
  • 支付68,000名佐治亚州居民的医疗债务
  • 为10万个需要帮助的家庭募集资金提供1,000美元的支票
  • 帮助扩大取得新冠肺炎(COVID-19)检测和疫苗,尤其针对佐治亚州偏乡地区
  • 为超过50万名的佐治亚居民提倡扩大医疗补助,并创造超过6万个佐治亚州的职缺
  • 说服电影业高管继续留在当地拍摄,保留在佐治亚州的工作机会
  • 为缺乏物资的食物银行配送粮食和补给品
  • 支持因枪枝暴力而丧失挚爱的家庭和社区
  • 组织企业领袖就投票权和选择权采取行动
  • 为佐治亚州和其他南方各州发展进步的政策解决方案
  • 为佐治亚州及其他地区的进步事业和民主党人开展竞选并筹集资金
  • 成立全国高等投票权组织,专注于立法、诉讼和宣传
  • 发起并资助横跨20个州的项目,以招募和培训选民保护团队
  • 向20多个动员佐治亚州有色人种选民的基层组织提供资金
  • 在佐治亚州民主党历史性的2020和2021竞选胜利中发挥了重要作用
  • 提升2020年美国人口普查中难以统计人口的参与人数
  • 在佐治亚州网域覆盖不足的社区安装了100多个无线互联网网点
  • 促进改善经济安全、医疗保健和环境正义的政策
  • 重看《星际迷航》系列和《吸血鬼杀手巴菲》的完整影集
  • 创作了几部新的小说和非小说作品

全年无休为佐治亚州居民服务

Photo of Stacey Abrams talking with a supporter on a front porch.

通过在小企业、非营利组织和政府部门担任多个领导职位,史黛西为佐治亚州的人民打开了机会的大门。她的组织在佐治亚州的100多个公共场所安装了无线互联网基地台,让佐治亚州的居民与服务、虚拟学校和潜在雇主链结在一起,从而帮助佐治亚州的偏乡地区。她和工作人员前往被忽略的社区,扩大当地获得新冠疫苗和检测的途径。

在疫情爆发早期,由于许多家庭没有收入,他们正在等待失业救济金或新冠病毒纾困支票,史黛西与其他领导人一起筹集资金,直接向10万个需要帮助的家庭提供1,000美元的现金汇款,其中就包括佐治亚州的居民。而在共和党持续拒绝提供50多万名佐治亚州居民获得医疗补助的同时,她已集资偿还6.8万名佐治亚州居民的医疗债务。

作为一名立法人员,史黛西明白,要为亟需帮助的佐治亚州带来进步,就需要更多公民的参与,尤以有色人种和边缘族群为重。她成立了全州性的组织,以确保所有佐治亚州居民——无论种族、收入或背景——均能够登记、投票、并确实记录其选票,并在美国人口普查中予以计数。

史黛西是《纽约时报》最畅销小说和非小说类书籍的作家,她领导着一家总部位于佐治亚州的制作公司,有数个已制作以及正在进行的项目。该公司的第一部电影《全力以赴:为民主而战》是2020年奥斯卡最佳纪录片入围作品。她是佐治亚州年轻创意人士的导师,也是佐治亚州充满活力的电影和电视行业业者坚定的倡导者。 

两党共识的建立者

史黛西通过在不论地理位置、意识形态或背景,为人们提供服务的结果来定义公共服务成功与否。在不动摇其对劳工的支持下,史黛西与反工会企业合作,制止对佐治亚州LGBTQ+族群的歧视。对于支持堕胎选择权她毫不后悔,但能够与反堕胎的立法者协调,通过刑事司法改革。

作为佐治亚州众议院的民主党领袖,她促进了在交通和基础设施方面的妥协。她在两党之间的努力有助于保有HOPE奖学金和普适托儿所项目的存续,因为这些项目在经济大衰退期间可能会被淘汰。她通过立法并增加了预算拨款,以改善祖父母一辈和其他抚养孩子家庭成员的福利,避免这些孩子被寄养。

前州长、共和党人内森·迪尔(Nathan Deal)在谈到史黛西时说:「她展现了一种你希望不论那个人在任何政党标签下都能做到的领导力。」她得到了众多无党派组织的认可,包括佐治亚州市政协会、佐治亚州县专员协会、佐治亚州社区医院联盟、佐治亚州拉美裔商会、亚裔美国人促进正义组织(佐治亚州)、全国有色人种协进会(NAACP)以及全国城市联盟和计划生育组织。她还因展示了一头名为贝西(Bessie)的4-H赞助小母牛而赢得立法牲畜综合赛的总冠军。

做足领导准备的行政官

Image of Stacey Abrams sitting in a red leather chair in front of pictures of past Georgia governors at the state house in Atlanta, Georgia.

史黛西是耶鲁大学培训的税务律师、企业家、作家和小企业主。她是NOW Account的共同创办人——一家金融服务公司,其帮助佐治亚州的小企业取得资本、发展业务并创造就业机会。她还是Sage Works Productions的首席执行官。 Sage Works Productions是佐治亚州的一家制片公司,旗下有数个正在开发中的项目,包括CBS和NBC环球集团。在担任各种领导职务时,史黛西在该州的每个地区皆聘雇佐治亚州人民,包括数百名刚踏入职业生涯的年轻人。 

她的行政经历包括为新佐治亚州项目建立和实施策略计划(着重于选民登记);平等竞争行动和平等竞争委员会(聚焦于保护投票权);以及平等计数,致力于人口普查有意义的参与以及公民参与。这其中的每个组织都在今天蓬勃发展,并代表佐治亚州人民进步茁壮。她还成立了南方经济发展项目,并担任该项目的执行主任;该项目旨在制定和促进应对佐治亚州和邻近南方各州间各个挑战的政策解决方案。 

2010年,史黛西成为佐治亚州议会众议院的民主党领袖,是第一位在州议会中领导各政党的女性,也是第一位在众议院中领导的佐治亚州黑人。作为民主党领袖,她中止了本应造成佐治亚州历史上最大幅度增税的立法,保护我们家庭的荷苞。她已准备好带领佐治亚州进入下一个,同时也是最伟大的篇章。

Stacey walking with two young supporters
点击下方的金额,成为基层捐款人。为唯一的佐治亚州支持我们的运动。
如果您已在ActBlue Express上储存您的付款信息,您的捐款将立即完成。

Meet Stacey

Stacey Abrams grew up in Gulfport, Mississippi, one of six children whose parents had three tenets: go to church, go to school, and take care of each other. Her father, a shipyard worker, and mother, a college librarian, faced financial hardships of their own, yet they taught their children the value of service to others. No matter how much they struggled to make ends meet, Stacey and her siblings were taught that someone always had less and that it was their job to serve that person. Her parents were also steadfast in seeking the best possible educational opportunities – both for their children and themselves. Education and service, both which remain central to Stacey’s identity today, were the impetus for the Abrams family’s move to Georgia.

Photo of Stacey Abrams looking out over a crowd.

Stacey’s parents became United Methodist ministers after pursuing graduate studies in Divinity at Emory University. Stacey and her younger siblings attended DeKalb County public schools. She is a graduate of Avondale High School with degrees from Spelman College, the LBJ School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas, and Yale Law School.

Experience

A Relentless Changemaker Regardless of Title

Stacey did not win her groundbreaking 2018 campaign for governor, but she did not quit. She got right back to work because she understood that she didn’t need the title of governor to make a difference in the lives of Georgians. In between her two campaigns for governor, Stacey:

  • Helped small businesses get the financing they needed to stay afloat
  • Paid off the medical debt of 68,000 Georgians
  • Raised funds to provide $1,000 checks to 100,000 families in need
  • Helped expand access to COVID-19 tests and vaccines, especially in rural Georgia
  • Advocated Medicaid expansion for 500,000+ Georgians and creation of 60,000+ Georgia jobs
  • Convinced film executives to continue local productions and keep jobs in Georgia
  • Delivered food and supplies to under-resourced food banks
  • Supported families and communities that lost loved ones to gun violence
  • Organized business leaders to take action on voting rights and the right to choose
  • Developed progressive policy solutions for Georgia and other Southern states
  • Campaigned and fundraised for progressive causes and Democrats in Georgia and beyond
  • Founded top national voting rights organization focused on legislation, litigation and advocacy
  • Launched and funded a 20-state program to recruit and train voter protection teams
  • Provided funding to two dozen grassroots organizations mobilizing voters of color in Georgia
  • Played a prominent role in Georgia Democrats’ historic 2020 and 2021 runoff victories
  • Increased participation of hard-to-count populations for the 2020 U.S. Census
  • Installed 100+ wireless internet stations across Georgia in under-connected communities
  • Advanced policies to improve economic security, healthcare access, and environmental justice
  • Re-watched episodes from the entire Star Trek franchise and Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  • Authored several new works of fiction and non-fiction

Working for Georgians Every Day

Photo of Stacey Abrams talking with a supporter on a front porch.

Through multiple leadership positions in the small business, nonprofit and government sectors, Stacey has opened the gates of opportunity to others across Georgia. Her organizations have lent a hand in rural Georgia by installing wireless internet stations in more than 100 public locations across the state, connecting Georgians to services, virtual school and potential employers. She and staff traveled to neglected communities to expand access to Covid vaccines and tests.

In the early days of the pandemic, as many families were without income and waiting on unemployment benefits or Covid stimulus checks, Stacey joined other leaders to raise funds for $1,000 cash transfers directly delivered to 100,000 families in need, including Georgians. And while Republicans continued to deny more than 500,000 Georgians access to Medicaid, she raised funds to pay off the medical debt of 68,000 Georgians.

As a legislator, Stacey understood that progress for Georgians in need required greater civic engagement, particularly from communities of color and marginalized groups. She launched statewide organizations to make sure that all Georgians – regardless of race, income or background – are able to register to vote, cast a ballot and have their ballot recorded properly and to be counted in the U.S. Census.

Stacey is a New York Times bestselling fiction and nonfiction author, and she leads a Georgia-based production company with several projects produced or in development. The company’s first film, All In: The Fight for Democracy, made the 2020 Oscar shortlist for best documentary. She serves as a mentor for young Georgia creatives and is a staunch advocate for the workers in Georgia’s vibrant film and television industry. 

A Bipartisan Consensus Builder

Stacey defines success in public service by delivering results for people regardless of their geography, ideology or background. Unwavering in her support for working people, Stacey worked with anti-union corporations to stop discrimination against Georgia’s LGBTQ+ community. She’s unapologetically pro-choice, but was able to coordinate with anti-choice legislators to pass criminal justice reform.

As the top Democrat in the Georgia House of Representatives, she brokered compromises for progress on transportation and infrastructure. Her bipartisan efforts were instrumental in saving the HOPE Scholarship and universal pre-K as these programs faced potential elimination during the Great Recession. She passed legislation and increased budget allocations to improve the welfare of grandparents and other family members raising children who would otherwise be placed in foster care.

Former Governor Nathan Deal, a Republican, said of Stacey, “she demonstrated the kind of leadership that you hope people would do regardless of party labels.” She has received recognition from numerous nonpartisan organizations, including the Georgia Municipal Association, the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia, the Georgia Alliance of Community Hospitals, the Georgia Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Asian Americans Advancing Justice (Georgia), the NAACP, the National Urban League and Planned Parenthood. And she won Grand Champion in the Legislative Livestock Roundup for showing a 4-H sponsored heifer named Bessie.

An Executive Ready to Lead

Image of Stacey Abrams sitting in a red leather chair in front of pictures of past Georgia governors at the state house in Atlanta, Georgia.

Stacey is a Yale-trained tax attorney, entrepreneur, writer and small business owner. She co-founded NOW Account, a financial services firm that helps Georgia small businesses access capital, grow their operations and create jobs. She is also the CEO of Sage Works Productions, a production company in Georgia with several projects under development, including with CBS Studios and NBC/Universal. In her various leadership roles, Stacey has hired and employed Georgians in every region of the state, including hundreds of young people beginning their careers. 

Her executive experience includes founding and implementing strategic plans for New Georgia Project, focused on voter registration; Fair Fight Action and Fair Fight PAC, focused on protecting voting rights; and Fair Count, dedicated to meaningful participation in the Census and civic engagement. Each of these organizations is thriving today and making progress on behalf of the people of Georgia. She also founded and served as executive director of the Southern Economic Advancement Project, which develops and promotes policy solutions to challenges in Georgia and neighboring Southern states. 

In 2010, Stacey became House Democratic Leader in the Georgia General Assembly, the first woman to lead either party in the state legislature and the first Black Georgian to lead in the House of Representatives. As Democratic Leader, she stopped legislation that would have created the largest tax increase in Georgia history, keeping more money in the pockets of our families. She is ready to lead Georgia into its next and greatest chapter.

Stacey walking with two young supporters
Become a grassroots donor by clicking an amount below. Support our movement for One Georgia.
If you’ve saved your payment information with ActBlue Express, your donation will go through immediately.